Uncategorized

let’s cover up.

Sisters, I have to address something that is tugging on and breaking my heart. I have to be honest with you.

Lately, as I scroll through social media pictures that have been posted, and I see one after another – pictures that ladies keep posting, pictures that just make me uncomfortable and honestly – break my heart.

Pictures of ladies “laying in bed wearing an over-sized sweater with knee-high socks” enjoying coffee in bed. Pictures of ladies “wearing over-sized t-shirts with no shorts under concept”. Pictures of ladies just flaunting lustful images in front of men’s eyes, at an easy click away. I think what breaks my heart even more about this, is that a lot of these pictures are coming from Christian women.

But sisters, we don’t need to seek approval from anyone. We don’t need to be posting these “scandalous” pictures. We don’t need to be posting them to seek how many “likes” and “comments” we can get, and thinking it’s okay because we have a Christian quote or scripture to go with it. Or because we want that guy to really like us and date us. Or to make us feel sexy.

 

Ladies. 

You are special in God’s eyes.

You are the crown jewel of creation.

You are the precious daughter of the King.

You are a princess in the eyes of our King.

God has seen us as valuable.

God giving value is what gives value.

 

Psalm 139:13-14 “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.”

Posting a semi-naked picture of yourself on social media to see how many likes you can get, does not give you value. Seeing if that guy you like will end up “double-tapping” does not give you value. If he gives you attention, that does not give you value. If your boyfriend thinks you’re hot because of pictures like this…that does not give you value.

Galations 1:10 says, “For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

Ladies, if the guy you are after is not after Christ and is instead after your body, then let him go. I have been where you are at. I have been in a relationship that I was posting “selfies” just to see if he would like it. I have been in a sinful relationship where I thought that getting all that attention from him, all the praise from him, all the “googly, lustful eyes” from him – I thought that was what I needed and wanted. I thought that would give me value.

In reality, I was seeking approval from someone that didn’t matter and didn’t give any value. The only approval that mattered was that of my Father.

There’s a quote that Jordan Lee from #soulscripts wrote and it resonated with me since I read it. And I wish I could scream it at the top of my lungs to all the single, dating, or married ladies out there.

When you don’t feel noticed by the guy, remember that you are more than noticed by GOD. And He’s not just giving you 0.02 seconds. He’s giving you all the seconds. His attention never strays. His affection never ends. And His gaze rests on your precious face as He says, I MADE HER. I MADE HER FRECKLY AND AWKWARD AND SWEET AND SILLY AND I LOVE EVERY SINGLE PIECE OF WHO SHE IS. He has already given you the head nod, the ultimate approval and said, YEP. I WANT YOU, GIRL. Because He doesn’t just notice you. He SEES you. He chases after you. And He pursues you. So you can stop running, pretty girl. Because He’s knocking on your door and standing on the other side with a sweet little gift called SALVATION.

Whether you are single, broken-hearted from your latest relationship, or deeply in love – don’t allow a romance to cause you to forget who you are and in who you find your identity – the big, powerful, beautiful, personal God that calls us by our own name. 

He calls you beloved.

God gives you value.

Not the Christian boy you are dating.

Not the guy at the bar.

Not the 10,000 likes you get on your picture.

Not all the “you’re so hot”, “you’re smoke”, “you’re perfect” comments.

 

Ladies, flattery is a form of lying. We’re not perfect. Our goal in life should not be to receive 10,000 likes or comments like that. “Our sin nature wants to be flattered because it loves to be admired.”

We don’t need to post semi-naked pictures of ourselves to receive likes and approvals.

 

God sent His perfect, sinless Son to die on the cross for YOU AND ME.

God rose His Son from the dead for YOU AND ME.

 

As we are. Without having to post any pictures. Or receive any comments. Or receive lustful eyes from others.

That is bigger than any amount of likes we will ever get. That is bigger than any love anyone on earth can ever offer. “Worth is not something we can earn because it’s a God-given thing.”

1 Peter 3:3-5 “the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious”

xoxo,

a sister that is praying for you – Tania

___

Emails are welcomed with open heart and arms. COMMENT BELOW, OR EMAIL ME AT:  NORIMTANIA@HOTMAIL.COM

Want to know when a new blog is posted? Email me at: norimtania@hotmail.com, or if you have a WordPress account, follow!

Want to share this with a friend? Click below to share on Facebook or Twitter!

Leave a comment